Will I fall through the cracks?

Interview. One of the most horrific words in the English Language.

The word that makes you forget absolutely everything about your life.

Am I married? Do I have one or four kids? What’s my profession? It all goes out the window.

It shouldn’t be that hard. But it is. People are scary. But a Professional Interviewer is terrifying.

The attire in itself is a struggle. Trying to find clothes that could suit a particular kind of interview. Do I wear heels? Do I wear a skirt or pants? Is it too hot for a jacket? Hair up or down? Makeup yes or no?

When it’s all sorted and you still feel uncomfortable, it’s that walking in that you feel the most judged.

Then comes the facial expressions of the interviewer. Fake smiles, awkward handshake, sizing up and down. Then uncomfortable silence for a few seconds. Oh the joys.

I speak with my hands. I find it helps my words flow. It’s how I relate to people.

Sometimes you get the interviewer that looks at your hands with the look of judgement on their face and you feel ashamed.

Face to face interviews suck. I envy anyone that goes through these.

Lucky for me, I have a phone interview today.

The bonus of this phone interview is that it is an “Informal Phone Interview”.

Now my question to this is. What in hell is an Informal Phone Interview?

Well let’s see then.

30 mins later…

Informal Interviews. It just felt like I was having a decent conversation with dad or the best friend.

It was comforting to reflect on the fact that my agent can help me feel relaxed in a scary situation.

I reflected on my experience with one of my favourite schools and I was able to talk about the kids, my teaching and my experiences.

I loved the interview.

So eye opening

So reflective

So inspiring

All interviews need to be like this. It shows the interviewees true self if they are comfortable in the situation.

Leah Busque says “Hiring’s tough. It’s not just filtering through hundreds of applications and blocking out big chunks of your day for interviews – those are the simple parts. The difficult thing is the nagging feeling that, despite your best efforts, the perfect candidate will somehow fall through the cracks”.

We will if we can’t think. If we are scared. Nervous. Falling through the cracks. Going insane. Back into the hunt. 

So make it informal and realistically comforting.

That way you won’t fall through the cracks.

Or Charles Barkley states “I don’t think of myself as giving interviews. I just have conversations. That gets me in trouble”. 

Maybe that’s it. Trouble. Be yourself or get in trouble.

Which should we choose? Obey or live freely? Get accepted or denied?

We live in such a rule bearing society.

It needs to change. 

  • thoughtsofablackandwhitecat (Jan 22nd 2017) 
Leave a Reply

