The curtain went up and I became an actor.

First night. I was nervous as I put my face on and did my 1912 hair. But as soon as the curtain went up, all fear left me. I was in my element. It was time to act, so I became an actor. This feeling of relief and home overwhelmed me and I felt extremely happy. Although not too happy because my  Iowa stubborn, chip on the shoulder attitude of a River Citizen mother is strict and proper.

I still cannot believe that I got into the Music Man. If you didn’t already know from my advertising, I am in my very first musical and the reason I am sharing it so much is because I am so happy and proud of my achievement and this musical. I want to share it with people. The musical is family friendly and fun. So much fun. Lots of good music and some very fast pickalittle singing. But great costumes. Imagine 1912 costumes. Beautiful. The gloves, the bags, the frocks, the jackets. Gah I love it. I really do. It is stunning.

The hair not so much. Do you know how much hairspray and bobby pins us actresses need to use? Some even got to backcomb the shit out of their hair. It’s a pain but it completes our look. Plaster on the makeup and touch it off with red lipstick and I am stuck in the world of 1912 America.

I just want to also say that this musical has brought something else along that I really needed and am so thankful for it. Friends. I am so grateful for making such beautiful friendships in this cast which I hope will last for a long time. I am especially grateful for my three main pickalittle ladies: Ruth, Sam and Kathy whom I love and have been such a great little pickalittle crew. But the other ladies: Linda, Elissa, Roxy, Karen, Honey and everyone else… (You know who you are), you have been amazing. I love you all so much and am so grateful to have become friends with you. I literally am going to miss them all so much when Music Man is over. We really create our own families. The MM cast is a family. Letting go and moving on will be hard.

My daughters. Oh my beautiful daughters. I will miss you equally as much. Having stage daughters means they will eventually leave and I won’t see them again.Well I may, fingers crossed. They have played a huge role in my life and I honestly don’t know how I will feel when the show is over. The feeling you get when you spend time with your family is great and good but it has to end. That’s when it gets sad.

However, I am grateful overall for my father that sort of pushed me to audition. I am so grateful for his support and his belief in me. This show has changed me. I feel alive and fresh and keen to explore my love for musical theatre by acting and singing on the stage. It is where I belong and it is home. I became an actor even though I never thought I would have the confidence to be one. But I did and it feels amazing.

13872713_1119489214781243_151816072668256358_n

13892236_1119489308114567_3984231242140187281_n

13872927_1119490011447830_3018159209996894896_n

 

Leave a Reply

